Executive Board

Twence has a single director under the articles of association, dr. Marc Kapteijn.
The management team consists of:
dr. Marc Kapteijn, CEO
Richard te Riet, CFO
Bert Zwierenberg, Director Operations
Bert Frowijn, Director Innovation & Projects

Supervisory Board

Twence is an organisation of social relevance and works on building a sustainable society. The Supervisory Board supervises and advises the Executive Board on the policy and the general affairs of the company. The Board gives high priority to the interests of the stakeholders, employees and the continuity of the organisation.

Important management decisions require the approval of the Supervisory Board. In accordance with the company’s articles of association, the Supervisory Board of Twence Holding B.V. comprises five members with a broad social background and a varied area of activity:

  • Mr W. van den Brink
  • Mrs. H.A. Scholtz RA
  • Mrs. H.G.M. van Oldeniel
  • Mrs. J. Zwueste
  • Mr M. Wildschut

The members of the board are appointed by the shareholders.

Read more


Achieving more together with smart solutions for sustainability and energy. That is the basis on which Twence was established. With a common vision for waste processing, the organisation has developed since 1986 into a figurehead and source of inspiration in the field of the circular economy in the east of the Netherlands. The stable basis with 15 government shareholders is unique and makes it possible to combine social returns and impact on the regional economy with sustainable investments which aim at a circular economy.

The shareholders in Twence are fourteen Twente municipalities (Almelo, Borne, Dinkelland, Enschede, Haaksbergen, Hellendoorn, Hengelo, Hof van Twente, Losser, Oldenzaal, Rijssen-Holten, Tubbergen, Twenterand, Wierden) and the municipality of Berkelland.

Read more

Corporate structure

Download the corporate structure of Twence here.